Alaska Professional Communicators: Alaska Press Women Memorial Scholarship

What is the Alaska Press Women Memorial Scholarship? In 1981, Alaska Professional Communicators decided we wanted to do something to help people in Alaska pursue education in our field. The scholarship is presented in memory of the many Alaska Press Women members who have passed on and left their mark. Betzi Woodman, Kay Kennedy, Phyllis Carlson, Jimmy Bedford, Chris McClain, Jo Ann Wold, Natalie Gottstein, Elizabeth Plank, Suzan Nightingale, John Killoran, Bea Rose and Nancy Cain Schmidt.The scholarship is given in May, so that students can plan on the money for the fall semester. There are two $1,000 awards.